Eat Lightly, Breathe Deeply, Live Moderately

BodyPump

Posted on: April 13, 2010

BodyPump is the most intense class offered at my gym. You’d think that since the weights you’re putting on the bar are 1 kg, 2.5 kg and 5 kg that it’s not that bad, right? (approximately 2.2 lbs, 5.5 lbs, and 11 lbs respectively) Maybe not, if you’re only doing 10-20 reps. But when you’re doing sometimes more than 100 reps of an exercise, having 15-20 lbs on that bar is enough to cause soreness for a week (speaking from experience).

Saturday was my second time doing the class. I was very sore on Sunday, mildly sore on Monday and I’m finally good again today. Last time I took the class (over two weeks ago) I used as much weight as the woman in front of me told me to (she’s in her 60s and I’m in my 20s) and I was sore for 4 days. The next time I made it to the gym was for BodyFlow and I was so sore I had a hard time making it through the workout. But I was glad that my first time back was something that involved stretching and lengthening the muscles… something I’m sure they needed after the torture that was my first BodyPump class.

My second time to the class I did lower weights on everything but the leg track. Though my legs were extremely sore after the first class, I know that my legs are strong and that’s something I can handle. Last time my biceps were so sore I co

uldn’t straighten my arms completely for a couple of days… so I did lower weights on the bicep and chest tracks. That seemed like a good choice. My arms were a little sore the day after, but were fine on Monday.

Tomorrow morning I’m looking to take BodyPump before work. We’ll see how that goes! I hope I’m not too sore on Thursday morning to make it to RPM before work :). I did the cycle class before work today, which is structured very differently than RPM. Or maybe I should say, isn’t structured. It was great, don’t get me wrong, but it wasn’t RPM, and I love RPM. I got there at 6:00 and we didn’t get our first recovery until 6:30. The second recovery came at 6:50, at which time I had to rush out of there to get home and get showered in time to make it to work. I’m used to RPM’s structure, where you exert yourself several times each track, with several small recoveries along the way. The way the cycle class was structured was very different. We would hold 3/4 of our top pace for an entire song, then do a seated climb

for an entire song (adding a gear every 30 seconds, ow!), then work out of the saddle for an entire song. There was one track that he did similar to RPM, which was Foo Fighter’s the Pretender. In RPM right now they’re using an awful cover of that song, but the work to the song is great. It was awesome to do that choreography to the original, and it really got me pumped! Though cycle was harder, and I felt that I didn’t work as hard because I didn’t know when (or IF!) a recovery was coming, I really did enjoy it, and the music selection was awesome. While RPM is mostly pop, techno, and bad covers of good songs… Bill used whatever he wanted in cycle class this morning. We cycled to Led Zeppelin’s Whole Lotta Love, Foghat’s Slow Ride, Queens of the Stone Age’s No One Knows, and of course Foo Fighter’s The Pretender.

FAIL

It was a great way to start off the morning, and I headed to work in a great mood. I picked out my clothes and put them in the hallway so I could get dressed after my shower without disturbing Steve by turning the lights on. I then walked into the bedroom to slip on my shoes (that live in the bottom of my closet) and headed to work. Everything was great until I was walking to the shuttle to work, looked down and realized that I was wearing two

VERY different shoes. One was my brown clarks wallabee and the other was a black leather hush puppy. If I didn’t have a spare pair at work I would not have gotten up from my desk all day for ANYTHING! Since I did have other shoes here it was just something worth laughing about 🙂

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • No comments yet

Categories

